Rusty/The Resurrection Of Rust (CD)


Ships on: May 24, 2024

Elvis Costello and his partner in his first band Rusty, Allan Mayes, have reunited for, as Costello puts it, “the record we would have cut when we were 18, if anyone had let us."

The Resurrection of Rust comprises newly recorded renditions of six songs drawn from Rusty’s 1972 set lists: duets on two 1972, Nick Lowe tunes, “Surrender To The Rhythm" and “Don’t Lose Your Grip On Love,” Kentucky songwriter Jim Ford’s “I’m Ahead If I Can Quit While I’m Behind,” and two originals; “Warm House” (written by D.P. MacManus in 1971) and “Maureen and Sam" (a musical collaboration by Mayes and MacManus) and finally, an arrangement incorporating the Neil Young songs “Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere” and “Dance, Dance, Dance", the latter witnessing Costello's debut on the electric violin.

Limited to 4 units per customer


1. Surrender To The Rhythm
2. I’m Ahead if I Can Quit While I’m Behind
3. Warm House (And an Hour of Joy)
4. Don’t Lose Your Grip On Love
5. Maureen & Sam
6. Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere Dance Dance Dance